The success of any business depends on the people who work there. It doesn’t matter if you’re the CEO of a Forbes 500 company or a distributor of cannabis products, the quality and integrity of employees is important. There are rules and regulations to follow in every industry to protect both the employer and employees. Since cannabis is now legal in California, if you’re the owner of a business that needs to transport cannabis products, knowing whom you can have working for you and what they’re responsible for when transporting your product is important.
The California Code of Regulations states that “Only a distributor licensee, their employees, or security personnel may be in a vehicle transporting cannabis goods.”
The important matter here is licensing. As long as a business owner is licensed to transport cannabis products for sale, then the employees of their company can transport the cannabis products as well.
What licenses do I need?
The licensee, anyone employed by the licensee or acting on behalf of the licensee, must have a valid driver’s license and wear a laminated or plastic-coated identification badge whenever they are engaging in commercial cannabis activity. The ID badge must include the licensee’s “doing business as” name and license number, employee’s first name, assigned employee number, and a color photograph of the employee.
Also, worth noting is that as long as you’re properly licensed, with new California regulations in place you can use your own or someone else’s vehicle to transport cannabis product if the vehicle is in compliance with regulations.
Do I have to use my own employees to transport product?
As long as a business owner is licensed to transport cannabis products for sale, then the employees of their company can transport the cannabis products as well.
So, if you’re a properly licensed business owner, you don’t have to use your own employees per se, but you do need to use employees of a licensed distributor. It’s really a moot point though, because you would almost always want to use your own employees so that you have more control, otherwise any liability shifts to a competitor and it could become a convoluted conflict of interest.
Are there any age requirements for employees?
The California Code continues… “All persons in a vehicle transporting cannabis goods shall be 21 years of age or older.”
While California labor law allows minors under the age of 18 to get a job (by meeting a number of prerequisites and conditions depending on the industry), all employees hired by a licensee to work within or on a licensed premises must be at least 21 years of age.
Do my employees have to be background checked?
As a licensee, it is required that you go through the Live-Scan process, but is it not a requirement that your employees have to have a background check through the Live-Scan process – although you have the discretion to decide that you want this to be a requirement for your business.
Are there any training requirements for employees?
According to Cal/OSHA, “In accordance with the California Business and Professions Code, section 26051.5, employers with two or more employees must ensure one supervisor and one employee have successfully completed a Cal/OSHA 30-hour general industry outreach training course offered by a training provider that is authorized by an OSHA Training Institute (OTI) Education Center.”
As a licensed distribute of cannabis for sale, your employees are a crucial part of the success of your business. Making sure you are running your business safely and legally will protect you and your employees from making common mistakes.
Nor Cal Vans designs and builds transportation solutions that change people’s lives. We offer new and used secure transport van conversion options for the safe and legal transport of your product. We’ve been solving transportation needs for nearly four decades and strive to hold true to our values of teamwork, trust, accountability, growth and a positive attitude.